Global Business Identifier Evaluative Proof of Concept

The U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) is launching a Global Business Identifier (GBI) Evaluative Proof of Concept (EPoC), which determines a single identifier solution that will uniquely discern main legal entity and ownership, specific business and global locations; and supply chain roles and functions.

Entry filers must request permission to participate in the GBI EPoC and obtain and submit all three GBI identifiers as part of the application.

The three identifiers under evaluation

1. Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)

LEI is a 20-digit, alphanumeric identifier with underlying reference data elements unique to a legal entity.
Owned and managed by the Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation (GLEIF).

2. Data Universal Numbering System (D-U-N-S)

D-U-N-S is a 9-digit numeric and non-indicative identifier that identifies unique business establishments with a library of over 200 reference data elements. Owned and managed by Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).

3. Global Location Number (GLN)

GLN is a 13-digit numeric identifier with varying sets of underlying reference data elements customizable to location, function, and operations. Owned and managed by GS1.

Important dates

The GBI EPoC will commence on 19 December 2022 and continues until 21 July 2023. Extensions, modifications, or early terminations will get announced in the Federal Register.

CBP will begin to accept requests from importers of record and licensed customs brokers to participate in the test on 2 December 2022, and CBP will continue to accept such requests until the GBI EPoC concludes.

Who can participate?

Participation in the test will allow test participants to test and give feedback to CBP on the GBI EPoC design and scope. The voluntary participants in the test must submit all three identifiers for the manufacturer/producer, seller, and shipper (regardless of whether they are the same entity).

Submitting identifiers for the distributor, exporter, and packager will remain optional. But until the full test evaluation is conducted, MID will still be required and accepted in parallel.

The test includes 10 countries: mainland China, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, France, Mexico, Vietnam, Italy, and Singapore.

The test includes 6 product categories: alcohol, medical devices, personal items, seafood, toys, and US goods returned.

Therefore trade members who conduct business in one of the mentioned countries and import a product in one of these categories can participate.

How to participate?

Once the manufacturers, shippers, and sellers (and, optionally, the exporters, distributors, and packagers) have obtained their GBIs (the D-U-N-S®, GLN, and LEI), you’ll need to provide the resulting GBIs to the relevant importer of record or licensed customs broker participating in the test.

In case you experience difficulty obtaining any of the GBIs, the importer of record or licensed customs broker seeking to participate in the test should reach out to CBP by email at .

The GBI single identifier solution will modernize the import process by providing the US government with accurate supply chain insights.